Re-writes Aren’t That Bad

As I may have mentioned before, I’m working on the re-writes to my first manuscript. It’s called, “Into The Realm: The Chronicles of Carter Blake, Book 1”. Kind of a long title, huh? That’s what one of my first beta readers said too. She let it go when I pointed out some other long-winded titles: “The Lord of The Rings: The Fellowship of The Ring”, “Lord Foul’s Bane: The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever”, and “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe.” But, I digress.

As I’ve been writing and researching, I’ve heard horror stories of the “Dreaded Re-write.” Yeah, that’s how it occurred for me. I haven’t had any issues with it. In fact, I’ve enjoyed the heck out of my revising. having others preview my work and point out areas that don’t work has allowed me to see how I might alter things, or say them differently while giving the same, or nearly the same, information.

A couple of Beta readers thought my pacing was too frantic. My first draft was over 60,000 words, mind you. So, I looked it over, searching for a couple of areas to pad, but for a good purpose, you know? I found them, and I found something else, something my Betas hadn’t caught yet. My main villan had been reduced to an after thought. I had tried to make him like the Emperor from Star Wars, but I ended up putting him on a bus with a touch of Chuck Cunningham Syndrom. I just dated myself, didn’t I? Well, back to the story of the story: I came up with a stroke of brilliance (yes, I’m wearing my ego pants today). I padded the story with a scene that shows a war that is going on in the background, the brilliance of the villan, and later on, shows evidence that it was the main bad guy.

I have the rest of the story out with a couple other beta readers. When they’re finished, I’ll be sending it to my friends at Critique Circle. I can’t wait to see what they find next.

2 thoughts on “Re-writes Aren’t That Bad”

    1. lol. Try this: Whenever you hear the questions, “What the hell am I doing? Who am I to think I could be a writer?”, say to yourself, “There are over 4 billion english speakers on this planet. *Someone* will like my story. That’s all that matters to me.”
      The rest, in my opinion, is just sitting wherever you fell most comfortable and just write. I hope that helps. Good luck!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. πŸ™‚

      Like

Comments are closed.