Into The Realm: The Chronicles of Carter Blake (raw update 1)

Daphne and I headed up to my library to research her psychology assignment. We began with scanning her textbook for the differences between sociopath and psychopath. I asked her to sum up what the text said so I could hear it in layman’s terms. After several minutes of thought, she did, finding it wasn’t as clear-cut as she had hoped. We worked for another two hours.
I was reading ahead while she wrote a preliminary diagnosis on a fictional patient’s session. Keeping my eyes on the book, I asked my second question.
“Daphne, what was your first real kiss like for you?”
Her head snapped up in surprise after a twenty-second delay.
“What? Where’d that come from?” she asked, bewildered.
“I was curious,” I answered honestly. “I haven’t had one yet.”
She smiled. “It was both sweet and awkward. Neither of us had had any experience with kissing. It was my freshman homecoming dance. His name was Tyler. The DJ was playing ‘Lady’ by Kenny Rogers. There’s a line, ‘I’m your knight in shining armor and I love you.’ Right then, Tyler moved in to kiss me. Oddly enough, I had decided to kiss him at the same time. Result? We bonked heads. We smiled painfully at each other, and tried again. This time, our lips met instead of our skulls.” She chuckled. “Not too smooth. But, the kisses got much better after that.”
I was fascinated. Immediately I conjured a vision of Daphne giving me my first real kiss. I felt her eyes on me and glanced up from the book, my face aflame. She kindly pretended not to notice and rose to her feet. She plucked the text from my slack fingers, dropping a small kiss on the top of my head.
“Goodnight, Carter,” she said, leaving my room. I never saw her again.

One thought on “Into The Realm: The Chronicles of Carter Blake (raw update 1)”

Comments are closed.