Into The Realm: The Chronicles of Carter Blake (raw update) [post 3 of 3]

I’m sure you are now wondering about Anderson, so before I go further, I’ll brief you on him. Anderson is an inch taller than me, yet I had sixty pounds on him. He has brown eyes, short, reddish-brown hair, and favors an outfit of black t-shirt and jeans. He positively vibrates with energy and is a lot of fun. Anderson is also a huge fan of BattleHammer and Japanese culture which is why I call him only by his last name.
He was sitting in his favorite place, a white leather recliner near the fireplace, when Lucas and I entered the living room. The entire room was decorated white. The Game Creator, on the other hand, was dressed entirely in black. I once asked if he had Goth aspirations; his reply was that he was simply lazy and with a closet full of black clothes, he didn’t have to worry about making sure anything matched. When he didn’t look up to greet us, I decided to needle him a bit.
“Hey, Mister Edward Cullen, how are you doing?”
Without looking up, he retaliated, “If you ever call me a sparkle fairy again, I’ll wipe out every character you create from now ‘til judgment day.”
“By all the hells,” I laughed. “That’s pretty harsh for an emo guy.”
That made him look up. “Fuck you, Carter.”
I laughed again. “This is Lucas Jackson. Has anyone else arrived?”
Anderson held out his hand and shook Lucas’ when it was accepted.
“Nope. You two are the first arrivals.”
Just then, Megan walked into the room causing Lucas to goggle. I’d had the same reaction when I first seen her, but I had gotten used to her and was mentally focused on Daphne. Megan was a petite, 157.48 cm. cheerleader for the Johns-Hopkins Blue Jays.
She had her long brown hair in a braid that went over her right shoulder. Her dark chocolate eyes sparkled with delight when she spotted me. I was one of her “most favorite people”, as she put it, because I always teamed up with her against her brother in water battles. She was wearing her cheer outfit of short skirt, halter top and sneakers, all in the school colors of Columbia blue and black.
“Hey, Carter,” she chirruped in her tiny voice. “How are you?”
“I’m good. How are you?”
“I’m eager to play BattleHammer. Who’s your friend?”
“This is Lucas Jackson. Lucas, put your eyes back in your head and greet the lady.”
He swallowed hard and mumbled a greeting. Megan smiled at him and went into the dining room where we’d be playing with a swirl of skirt and a quick flash of spankers. A few minutes later, Mike and Stacy walked in holding hands. Mike Reynolds looked like the identical twin of actor Jensen Ackles. He had the same light brown hair, blue eyes and short, stocky stature. Because he grew tired of being confused for the guy, Mike dyed his hair black, and wore contacts to make his naturally light blue eyes appear blood-red. His girlfriend was a fluffy young woman of 167.64 cm. She had very curly brown hair and golden brown eyes.
I made introductions all around and we headed in to the dining room to play BattleHammer. Much to Lucas’ chagrin, and my amusement, Megan was the first to offer to help him create his character. The poor guy couldn’t seem to get his tongue to work properly when she was sitting next to him. The others watched for a few minutes while Megan innocently tried to get Lucas to speak to her. Finally, her brother spoke up.
“For Christ’s sake, Megan. Get away from the poor bastard. Can’t you see he’s too attracted to you to speak?”
That flustered both of them. Lucas turned brick-red and Megan left the room. Stacy went to Lucas’ side and after a few minutes of talking quietly talking with him, got him to begin creating his character. I looked at Anderson for a few seconds, shook my head at his decision to be an asshole, and then went to talk with Megan. When Anderson pissed her off like this, only their parents and I could get her to speaking with him again. Once, their parents decided to let the siblings work things out on their own, but after a month of Megan and Anderson communicating through intermediaries, gave in and mediated.
I found Megan standing in the kitchen with a glass of wine, leaning against the white marble counter. She had her free arm wrapped around her middle like she was trying to physically keep herself together.
“Are you okay?” I asked.
“Not really,” she said. “I am mortified. Why does Keith have to be such an asshole?”
“I don’t really know, Keebles,” I said. “I think it’s a control issue.”
She smiled at the nickname I had given her as I knew she would.
“So, he’s trying to control me?” she mused.
“By all the hells, don’t be silly,” I said. “He’s trying to control the relationship he sees forming in front of his very eyes.”
She looked sideways at me.
“Yes, Keebles, even I saw the budding attraction between the two of you.”
“This has never happened to me before,” she confessed. “It’s like Lucas is a big, sexy and shy teddy bear I just want to hug, squeeze and cuddle up with.”
I grinned. That was an apt description, a big, shy teddy bear. I walked over to the pantry and pulled out a package of Megan’s favorite cookies, Keebler Elf sandwich cookies. I offered them to her.
“Munch these, and ignore your little brother,” I suggested. “After the game, if Lucas hasn’t asked you out, ask him.”
She laughed out loud. “You’re a smart man, Carter. I’m glad you’re friends with my little brother.”
“Oh, we’re not friends?” I said.
She opened her mouth to protest and took a good look at me: I had crossed my eyes and stuck my tongue out at her. She laughed again and tossed a cookie at me. I uncrossed my eyes and, more by luck than skill, caught the cookie with one hand. I crowed about my accomplishment and we left the kitchen laughing. Mike was deep in conversation with Anderson and Lucas was putting the finishing touches on his character. Mike looked up, saw we were in the room and pushed Anderson towards us. He walked over and spoke to his sister as I walked over to check out the new party member.

-Wow. Who knew you were a negotiator?-

-Stop with the comments, please! I’m trying to tell a story here. Don’t make me come back there!-

-Oooh! I’m so scared!-

