Rob, meet Robby

So, I’m skipping though Carroll Park – What? Yes. Skipping. Feck off – and as I round a pretty impressive oak, I see this oddly familiar little kid. I glance around, but don’t see anyone parent-like around. Before I can say anything –

No, Fecker, you don’t look creepy at all. No worries though: I’m the 10-year-old you. I’m Robby.

No, fecking way! How is this possible? And how do you know what I’m thinking?

Oh, for feck’s sake! How did I survive to 32 being this dumb?

Snarky little fecker, aren’t you? He nods. What do you want?

Duh. I want to know about the future. I know you can’t tell me the big stuff like lottery numbers, so don’t worry about that.

Fair enough. Alright: After about the mid-90s, when you’re about to turn 16, all the good cartoons’ll be off the air.

That sucks.

Indeed. Oh! Good news: VHS tapes will be phased out in favor of DVD’s. They’re kind of like CDs, but for movies and tv shows.

Cool. What else?

Floppy disks are replaced by something a lot smaller called a micro SD card. And, it can hold a butt load more than the floppys.

No way.

Yes way. CDs and DVDs have all but gone the way of the Dodo. Almost everything is digital.

What does that mean?

Well, for example, nowadays, you can carry the equivilent of a million CD’s in your pocket. Hell, you can do that with a fecking computer.

Seriously?

Oh, yeah. They’ve figured out a way to combine a computer, a phone, a movie player and a music player. The whole bloody thing fits in your pocket too.

Holy crap! What else is there?

There’s this cool thing called the internet. I think in your time it’s still called ARPANET, but I could be wrong. Anyway, the internet is a collection of computers linked up all over the world. You have access to almost all the info in the world, and all the access to all the bullshit in the world. And, it seems the bs out numbers the knowledge.

Isn’t that always the way? We both laugh. What’s going on with our life?

I’m about to be a published author. I also have four other novels in various stages of completion.

Gleeful grin on the little guy’s face. Yes! that is so cool!

Indeed. We’re also friends with a very funny lady named Rebecca Donohue, a talented writer full of doubts named Fabiola, and another talented writer named Jennifer. She also is full of doubts.

You still haven’t told them you doubt yourself more than they do?

They don’t buy it.

Hey, are we still alone, or do we have someone to love us?

Rob?

19 thoughts on “Rob, meet Robby”

  1. It only shows you have courage, Mr. Foster. Not only do you continue to pursue your dream in spite of your self-doubts, you inspire others to do the same.
    Just sayen 🙂
    And lovely post, as always.

    Like

  2. A) I would like to agree with Fab. B) I think you accomplished this blog post better than I did. Seriously. I heart you, foster. What a nice surprise of humanity you are on here. much love, sm

    Like

  3. Ahhhhhh! Another person who uses the work “feck”!! How “fecking” awesome!! 😀 Clearly, you and Sweet Mother must be awesome friends! 🙂

    Love the way you ended it too.

    Like

Comments are closed.