Love And In Love.

“I did as you asked, Granddad.”

“How did it, go, my boy?”

“How you thought it would. She’s not in love with me.”

“What did you say?”

“I told her that I was going to try to get her to fall in love with me.”

“And?”

“She said don’t. Be who I am.”

“Then that’s the end of the relationship. It’s not going to go any further.”

“Cynical much, Granddad?”

“Has she talked about the future with you?”

“Well… no.”

“You see?”

“But she says she’s scared.”

“Let me guess: She doesn’t want to hurt you.”

“Um.”

“As I said, my boy, your relationship with her isn’t going to go any further.”

“But… I’m in love with her.”

“I know. And it’s hard to realize that the one who matters the most to you doesn’t feel the same. Now you can move forward and find someone who would love you the way you love her.”

“I don’t think that will happen.”

“With that attitude, it won’t.”

“What do I do, Granddad?”

“Here, wipe your face. There’s no point in crying over it. I know it hurts, but you can’t force someone to love you.”

“I know. But what should I do?”

“What do you want to do?”

“I want to do whatever it takes to win her.”

“How long have you been wooing her again?”

“Almost a year.”

“And you’ve gotten no further than her saying ‘I love you.’ She won’t talk about a future with the two of you because she doesn’t see one with the two of you together.”

“How do you know?”

“Have you talked about the future with her?”

“Yes. Many times.”

“And how did she react?”

“She said it sounded nice.”

“No, how did she sound? Was there any enthusiasm?”

“No, Granddad.”

“Sounds like she told you how she was feeling about the two of you being together.”

“Then why did she tell me that she loved me?”

“Why did she say it in the first place? Did you ever ask her?”

“She said it was something I needed to hear.”

“That’s telling.”

“I’ve been an idiot, huh?”

“Not at all, my boy. You’ve been in love. There’s nothing wrong with taking a risk. It shows you what kind of person you are.”

“I’m not going to put myself out there like this again. It hurts too much.”

“I never took you for a coward, my boy. I thought you were a man.”

“I am, Granddad.”

“A man wouldn’t allow a set back to keep him down.”

“…”

“Would he?”

“No, sir.”

“What did you learn from this?”

“I’ve learned to listen to what isn’t said, as well as what is.”

“Very good. Now go wash up. Grandmom has dinner ready.”

“Yes, sir. Thank you.”

“You’re welcome, my boy. It’s what grandfather’s are for.”

 

