Into the Realm: The Chronicles of Carter Blake, Book I (C4, S2)

Previous subchapter is here.

 

Subchapter 2

 

Angriz and I approached the Vaush-Tauric’s home early the next morning. We were met by someone other than Soo-jau. She had a different scent and a lighter tread.

“Welcome tae Lady Soo-jau’s home,” a euphonious feminine voice said.

‘Wait a moment. I recognize that accent. The speaker is Gaelic!’

Ignorant of my inner consternation, Angriz replied, “Thank you, Keeper Dearbhaile. This silent one beside me is-”

“Carter Blake. My mistress told me much of  ye.”

“You’re Gaelic,” I blurted.

“Gaeilge atá tú?”

“Huh?”

“I’m sorry. I said, ‘Are ye Gaelic?’ I thought ye might be.”

“No, I recognize the brogue.”

Keeper Dearbhaile giggled. “A gift from me mother. She be from Éire.”

I recognized the old name of the country I knew as Ireland. “Der va la?” I said. “A lovely sounding name.”

“Thank ye. Your pronunciation be excellent, Laird Blake! No one else evair gotten it right on the firs’ go.”

“When did your mother leave Éire?”

“In 1125 AD.”

Lady Soo-jau approached before I asked Dearbhaile anything else. I turned my wrapped eyes towards her. Soft hands pulled the cloth from my face. A brief inhalation came as one of the women got sight of the empty holes where my eyes had been. The two women stood close to me, so I didn’t know which one made the sound. A sudden exhalation of air against my face, and blinding pain ripped through my skull, centered on my eye sockets. I clapped my hands to the re-injured area as I screamed in agony. I fell backward to the ground, feeling as if someone had filled my empty sockets with ground glass and was grinding the shards into the delicate tissue. After an eternity of pain, I slipped into unconsciousness.

 

Continues here.

2 thoughts on “Into the Realm: The Chronicles of Carter Blake, Book I (C4, S2)”

Comments are closed.