Inspiration

The dictionary defines inspires as to influence, or to compel. So, if we extrapolate from there, we can infer that an inspiration is the agent, or catalyst. With is a remarkably convoluted way to say, “My best friend, Jen, is the biggest reason for me continuing to write.”

 

I don’t know how many times I’ve used her as the template for my heroines in my works. Whenever I get around to actually completing my revisions, and actually publish them, you’d see her influence in them all. For the most part, they merely highlight a part of her personality. There is one character, who shares her name, who is almost 100% her. How and why is she my inspiration? Well, that is a twofold question (obviously).

 

How

 

Jen is, for me, the perfect woman. She has intelligence, humor, a rapier wit, and nigh boundless enthusiasm for life. She believes in people. No matter what, she trusts that they will, if given the chance, show how wonderful they are. Has that bitten her in the ass? Of course it has. But you know what? She still believes in them.

She’s one of the best writers I know. Her world building is slow-paced, but her plotting is pretty tight. Where she truly excels, though, is her characters. You can easily imagine them coming off the page and sitting with you to strike up a conversation. I look forward to the day she gets published. Then, I’ll be able to brag that I’m best friends with my favorite author. How many folks can say that?

 

Why

 

In my life, not too many believed in me. I’m my biggest detractor. Jen, however, won’t stand for it. If I bitch and moan about something, she won’t hesitate to call me on it, or to give me the verbal kick in the ass that I need.

At the same time, when she knows that I’m truly down, or upset about something, she’ll remind me, “If you’re ready to talk, I’m ready to listen. I’m here for you.” Somehow, she always knows whether I need to hear trite, and tired “it’ll be alright” sayings, or if I need humor, sympathy, or “need me to kick someone’s ass.” She’s also full of great ideas for where to take my stories, or how to make them better.

 

Jennifer is my Ideal Reader. the one I write all of my stories for. I know that if I can make her laugh, or cry, or shout with amazement, that I will elicit the same for you.

 

So, thank you, Jen, for all you do for me. I don’t say it enough, I know, but I always – always appreciate you. You are my best friend, and the best person to come into my life so far. You may doubt yourself, but you can count on me always believing in you.

